Author Topic: Road to Rangoon Aircraft Discussion (A6M2 vs Hurricane mk I)  (Read 3367 times)

Offline WldWeasl

• Zinc Member
      • NoseArt
Road to Rangoon Aircraft Discussion (A6M2 vs Hurricane mk I)
« on: March 31, 2011, 12:12:19 PM »
I'm curious as to the reason for the selection of the aircraft mentioned above.  I know that the A6M2 for the Ki-43 makes sense but I'm not sure why we aren't using the Hurricane II's in the scenario instead of the Hurricane I's. 

There were in fact Mk II's in theater in 1942, and it seems that the 135 Sqd. did in fact fly IIa's and IIb's during this time. 

Can someone explain to me the rationale of upgrading (significantly) the Ki-43 to the A6M2 (and then A6M5) and NOT using the planeset (Mk IIb's) that were ACTUALLY in theater?

I know I'm a noob in the scenario world... but this seems like a fair question..

WldWeasl

Offline perdue3

• Aces High CM Staff
  • Platinum Member
Re: Road to Rangoon Aircraft Discussion (A6M2 vs Hurricane mk I)
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2011, 12:15:07 PM »
Alies had Hurr Is. End of discussion. They also had F2A Buffaloes and we are substituting it with the B-239. Same goes for the Ki 43 and Ki 44. Both are being substituted along with the Dinah.
C.O. Kommando Nowotny 

FlyKommando.com

Offline Fencer51

• Aces High CM Staff (Retired)
  • Platinum Member
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2011, 12:41:43 PM »
Timeframe: January to first week of March.

Hurricanes at Rangoon were Mk IIa for One Seven and IIb for One Three Five Squadrons.  However, there is no way in heck I am going to put the IIC we have currently in place for a substitution.  Those 4 hispanos would shred the Betties and ruin the event.

A6M5 is substituting for the KI-44, not the KI-43.

And its the "Nick", not the Dinah, the "original" writeup by DoKtOr GoNzO had that wrong and I missed it when I updated the planeset.
Fencer
The names of the irrelevant have been changed to protect their irrelevance.