Author Topic: Yak-9U vs Yak-3  (Read 7315 times)

Offline Nefarious

• Aces High CM Staff
  • Plutonium Member
Yak-9U vs Yak-3
« on: March 24, 2014, 09:36:55 PM »
Am I cornfused? I thought by the discussion on the BBS that the Yak 3 is "better" than than the -9.

Which aircraft is more feared by it's historical competition? meaning Fw190 A and D and Bf 109G and K.

Yak 9 seems faster, Yak 3 has better climb... Any help? Opinions?
There must also be a flyable computer available for Nefarious to do FSO. So he doesn't keep talking about it for eight and a half hours on Friday night!

Offline mthrockmor

• Gold Member
Re: Yak-9U vs Yak-3
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2014, 09:42:26 PM »
I'm no expert though what I've read is the Germans were OK with the 9s speed, it was the turning ability mixed with solid speed that caused concern with the 3. One posted noted German high command told pilots to avoid the 3.

Just what I've read...
No poor dumb bastard wins a war by dying for his country, he wins by making the other poor, dumb, bastard die for his.
George "Blood n Guts" Patton

Offline bustr

• Plutonium Member
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2014, 12:57:32 AM »
You will need to create a list of differences to how all of the aircraft in question were flown in ww2 versus how we fly them here in Aces High.

I will start it.

Yak3

-------------Real World ----------- Aces High
Deaths--------- 1 ----------------- Unlimited
Physics---- unforgiving ------------- Fixed, predictable

With unlimited deaths and a predictable physical environment to wax on and wax off over and over and over. You will eventually learn to dance your heart out all night long in ACMy bliss. The most unpredictable aspect of the game is the Internet. I believe more ww2 pilots were killed visa accidents of all kinds versus killed by enemy activity.
bustr - POTW 1st Wing