Author Topic: McCain weighs in on the A-10 debate  (Read 3757 times)

Offline Karnak

• Radioactive Member
Re: McCain weighs in on the A-10 debate
« Reply #75 on: June 30, 2015, 09:23:19 PM »
I'm noticing a trend: If you have any recent combat experience at ALL, you wholeheartedly support maintaining the A-10, and think there is no real REPLACEMENT for the A-10. If you've never been closer to combat than the computer, or your role in the military is entirely about numbers and you've forgotten what combat was like, then you say can it. I wonder which side I have more faith in...
Heh.  Don't put all of us non-military guys in one corner.  I have no military background, but I think the A-10 should be maintained, or a suitable replacement developed.
Petals floating by,
      Drift through my woman's hand,
             As she remembers me-

Offline Zimme83

• Gold Member
« Reply #76 on: June 30, 2015, 09:43:03 PM »
I would say that military or not is not that relevant in the debate, history have shown that even military expert and high rank officers can be very biased to a certain opinion for a lot of reasons. First hand information is of course always valuable but it doesnt meen that a guy on the outside cant have an opinion just as valid.
''The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge'' - Stephen Hawking

Offline BaDkaRmA158Th

• Gold Member
« Reply #77 on: July 01, 2015, 01:32:22 AM »
If they can spend billions for a fleet of f-35's, they can crank a few bill to start making 21st century A-10's.

:rock
~383Rd RTC/CH BW/AG~
BaDfaRmA

My signature says "Our commitment to diplomacy will never inhibit our willingness to kick a$s."

Offline FBKampfer

• Nickel Member
« Reply #78 on: July 01, 2015, 01:34:45 AM »
I'm curious, doesn't the A10 primarily load up with smart weapons?

That would make the main difference between it and any other bomb truck the 30mm and the ability to strafe targets.
AvA Development Group
Freebird SAC member