Author Topic: Player Manual Thread  (Read 1140 times)

Offline 8thJinx

• Silver Member
Player Manual Thread
« on: November 30, 2017, 10:28:03 PM »
This is the first post of a (hopefully) community-generated player manual for the new folks.  This was discussed in another thread, and I thought a separate thread made sense.  The idea is basically "divide and conquer" and crowd source it, then roll it up in one document, then one guy - ONE GUY - makes the first edit to get uniformity in language, sentence length, etc.  Then each member takes a copy and edits the first edit.  But it starts with a table of contents, then divide on conquer, etc etc.

So this is the new thread with a first-pass table of contents.  Next we pick the sections we want to do.  Then the first edit.  Since I write for a living (engineering reports, manuals, and fiction), and I've written manuals before for the chemical manufacturing industry, I'll throw it out there that I'll volunteer to do the first edit. 

When you pick a chapter from the first two sections below, please note the chapter has to be short.  Anywhere between a paragraph to a page or two.  If it goes more than that, that chapter needs to be split up.  Bulleted lists don't count in that paragraph/page count.  The idea is to limit the body of text to just the bare essentials, and not make it boring.  For the advanced concept chapters, they can be as long as necessary.

Here's the first pass table of contents:

i       Welcome to the Aces High Experience (one or two short paragraphs)
1.   System requirements
2.   Downloading the game files for the first time
3.   Game launch and initial settings
4.   The game interface
5.   Graphics settings
6.   The game environment
7.   The clipboard map
8.   The radio
9.   Your controllers and settings
10.   Keyboard and Dot commands
11.   Perk points
12.   Manning a gun
13.   Joining an active sortie
14.   Launching a vehicle
15.   Launching a PT Boat
16.   Launching a plane
17.   Landing safely