Author Topic: P51D flaps use.......what am I doing wrong?  (Read 1656 times)

Offline Sparks

• Silver Member
P51D flaps use.......what am I doing wrong?
« Reply #30 on: March 18, 2002, 07:50:46 PM »
Well I'm no Pony expert but I certainly use flaps a lot as I have a genetic tendancy to low down knife fighting ( comes from being a Spit dweeb :) ).  

Once committed to a turn fight I will be popping flaps in and out basically dependant on airspeed - below 200 1 notch - as it goes toward 160/180 2 notches and below 3 notches.  As Grem said though , don't expect to get out quick.

I have even gone to 4 or full going over the top of a real slow loop because as long as you are gentle with the ailerons it will mush over quite nicely with ridiculously low airspeed showing - I'm sure at some point partly stalled but it will start flying again quickly with everything hanging.

The beauty of the 51 I've found is actually it's excellent speed control and roll rate which I find it maintains all the way down to stall you can actually surprise people but don't do it i a crowd :)

Sparks

Offline ICKID

• Copper Member
« Reply #31 on: March 20, 2002, 02:01:12 PM »
FLS, you stated:

"Flaps change the wing incidence giving you a higher AOA for the same pitch angle. That's why it seems like flaps give you more lift. The lift actually results from the increased AOA. Flaps do increase the coefficient of lift allowing a higher AOA and lower stall speeds. The lower stall speed allows a slower tighter turn."