Author Topic: Question about flying bombers...  (Read 355 times)

Offline Esme

• Copper Member
Question about flying bombers...
« on: April 22, 2002, 01:39:57 PM »
all!

Hi, I'm fairly new to Aces High, though I've had a couple of years in a different sim. One of the things I like about AH compared to my previous experience is having two engine controls to mess with (not to mention switchable fuel tanks, woohoo!).

My question is this - can anyone point me in the direction of good data about how (precisely) MP affects speed and fuel consumption (ie: more mp = higher speed and fuel consumption isnt adequate; how does, say, 75% of max MP compare to 100% in terms of max speed attained and rate of fuel use?). Oh - and am I correct that at the moment RPM changes only affect the amount of thrust obtained, they dont affect the fuel use rate in AH?

Yes, I know: I COULD go and do a lot of testing and find this out myself, but am a bit pressed for time at the moment (syill dealing with financial year end, here! :-} )

Oh, and if anyone's wondering why I want data like that, it's so I can get the best  performance from planes I fly - the more efficiently I can use fuel, the further and/or faster I can get teh job done...

Esme

Offline Furious

• Gold Member
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2002, 05:11:23 PM »
Yes RPM is tied to fuel consumption.

I do not know of anywhere that you can find definitive fuel economy settings.

If you do the testing post here for all of us.   :)

F.

Offline Makofan

• Copper Member
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2002, 10:48:08 PM »
Hey esme - welcome aboard!

Offline bikekil

• Gold Member
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2002, 01:01:55 AM »
For some reason in some fighters RPM setting have no impact on fuel consumption (FunkedUp tested it some time ago). It's overally a good inea to reduce MAN (PSI) setting to increase "range" or your plane.

Offline Esme

• Copper Member
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2002, 01:02:08 AM »