look at the picture. look at the background. the linesman is NOT on the end line. Plus both players are probably preventing a clear view of the ball.
I couldn't stay awake for this one, I tried but was falling asleep in the 15th minute, so I went to bed and was gone about the time I hit the pillow. So answer me this. Did the lineman's flag go up immediately? Or did he wave it AFTER the goal went in? If the flag went up immediately, then the linesman made a bad call and thought the ball went over the end line. If the linesman waited to put up the flag, then he's got it in for Spain. I don't know, I have only seen the pictures here.
Bad calls are part of the game. Donovan was clearly onside in the early going of our game. The ball deflecting off the German could have been called a penalty (as even tho it wasn't intentional, it gave a clear advantage to the Germans) and it could have also been ruled to go over the line. The ref chose to play on (subsequently calling a correct foul on Berhalter) and the linesman said he had a clear view and the entire ball was not in the goal. Also, the Germans were taking a few dives here and there (however, I think the free kick on which Ballack scored was a legit foul) that the ref bought into.
Spain outplayed Korea but they went home. Portugal outplayed the USA over most of the game, but they went home. Mexico definitely had the possession against the USA but went home. The USA actually played their best game of the Cup against Germany but couldn't finish (and Kahn made some brilliant saves!), and went home.