Author Topic: Padlock  (Read 293 times)

Offline Zipper9

• Zinc Member
Padlock
« on: September 23, 2002, 08:46:10 AM »
Hi,

I am totally new to AH and have previously been flying another flight sim.

In a previous post i have asked about padlock and how it works and it seems like not a lot of people understand what this is or even know it exists.  

Padlock can be compared with a real situation where the pilot turn his head during the dogfight to view the enemy. In the sim that is the same as using the joystick-hat to change view but automatically.

Yesterday during my debute in AH (it was really great and hours just flow away) i have asked  a few peopel about it and a common answer was; padlock, what is that? The other comment is that AH is a realistic sim and padlock does not fit into that model. I do think it fits into this realistic model because the fact that it does reflect a realistic view system simulating the pilots head movement. I know the hat is for this thing but in the real world the pilots head is following the enemy automatically except for when there is no view.

The choice to use it is our own and i happen to use it very successfully and would like to continue to use it in AH.

Anyhow, i have not yet got this function to work.

Cheers

Zipper9

This is the text in the AH manual about padlock:

Padlock in Aces High

To get padlock view to work you must make sure it is mapped under the View Keys in the keymapper.  If you have just installed Aces High or if you haven't previously mapped keys, the padlock keys should already be mapped for you.  You should see the padlock view associated with the F11 key, the target cycle with the Tab key, and the friendly mode toggle with the Ctrl-Tab.

Once the keys are mapped, use F11 to go into padlock view mode.  Use Shift-Tab to center on a target and the Tab key to cycle through the targets in your view.  The chosen target will appear with a thin rectangle around the icon.