Author Topic: Dissapointing performance  (Read 1578 times)

Offline Rich46yo

• Platinum Member
Dissapointing performance
« on: July 16, 2007, 07:29:08 PM »
Hello to the group. I'm brand new to the game so I hope someone can help me with this. I bought a new Saitek "Aviator" joystick and as far as I can tell its working fine. The big problem I'm having, other then learning the game, is none of the airplanes Ive been trying have had the kind of performance they are known for. For instance, I just flew a B-17 offline flight and was unable to get the airplane above 3,000', or faster then 148 mph. Even after dropping the bombs I was still unable to gain altitude.

The stick is calibrated fine, as far as I can tell. Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thank you.
"flying the aircraft of the Red Star"

Offline Lusche

• Radioactive Member
      • Last.FM Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2007, 07:36:38 PM »
Seems like you still had flaps deployed. When you deploy on runway, your flaps are down two notches. Retract them immediately by hitting W two times (Q to drop them again).
Also don't take too much fuel, 25-50% will do for most missions when flying online.

Also make sure that you move your throttle too when calibrating the stick, else you won't be able to give full power.
« Last Edit: July 16, 2007, 08:17:10 PM by Lusche »
Steam: DrKalv
E:D Snailman

Offline sgt203

• Nickel Member
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2007, 07:58:24 PM »
My bet is Lusche is right need to pull up your flaps.. 17's will do much better than 148 IAS...

Offline TequilaChaser

• AH Training Corps - Retired
  • Plutonium Member
      • The Damned - founded by Ptero in 1988
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2007, 08:35:56 PM »