Author Topic: HTC.....Poly Count  (Read 2242 times)

Offline Strip

• Gold Member
HTC.....Poly Count
« on: August 19, 2009, 09:07:32 AM »
HTC,
    Bear with my graphic ignorance please.....I am creating quiet a few custom objects for project of mine.
What I am looking for is some sort of reference. IE How many poly's I can expect a normal users computer
to endure. Right now I have a tower setup that is 2800 surfaces and 3800 vertices. Granted its a bit
extreme and over modeled, the hand railing alone is 60% of it.

With my basic knowledge of graphics I couldn't even tell you if thats a high or low count tho. However,
at high speed, making close passes my computer runs it fine. Unfortunately, (depending on how you view
it) my computeris probably in the upper third of AcesHigh users. What runs well on my computer perhaps
wont on 2 out 3 other computers. Most, okay all, of my background is in 3D cad software, which for planar
objects (like towers) gives me just enough knowledge to be dangerous.

Edit: This is another one of my models......its just got a basic texture on it right now.

This was taken about half way through building the tower but shows the detail I was getting into. It now has a
superstructure, radio antenna, basic flag and another hand rail. Before I mentioned even completed my computer
only drops a few frames compared to a normal large field. Its also important to note that the terrain will be devoid
of the normal trees. The field will also have none of the ack, troops, ordnance or hanger buildings. It wont be total
devoid but you get the idea, I hope.

How many poly's should I try to keep in view at one time?

Roughly how many polys is a CV group?

Should I just try to find a test mule to see where my airfield stands?

I am walking blindly through a mine field of the graphic world. Creating a good model is not my main problem....its making
sure most of the players can use it is. Any words of wisdom are welcomed....

<S> Strip