Author Topic: Amazing P38 flight characteristics  (Read 2329 times)

Offline Howitzer

• Silver Member
Amazing P38 flight characteristics
« Reply #45 on: December 09, 2003, 02:25:06 PM »
I'm just learning the 38, but I have learnt this much as far as 51 vs. 38 (at least for me right now), if I'm at cruising speed lets say 300 mph, say at 4k, and a 38 comes along co-alt, I may try setting up one high speed pass with it, but thats all, if you miss, just keep on going because if that 38 knows what he's doing he's going to get you slow or stall your *** then pop you.  If you don't have a respect for that 38 when you come across it, you will learn real fast if there is an experienced pilot at the controls.  :aok

--Howitzer

Offline davidpt40

• Silver Member
« Reply #46 on: December 09, 2003, 05:29:33 PM »
Sorry Bulz.

Will someone duel me in the DA?  I just want to test a few things.  I will fly P-51, someone else will fly P-38.  

At 10,000 feet, the P38 will do about 375mph with war emergency power.  The Mustang will do about 410mph.  Thats a pretty big speed difference.  Enough to give the P-51 a healthy advantage.

Offline Urchin

• Platinum Member
« Reply #47 on: December 09, 2003, 06:14:23 PM »
That 25 mph speed advantage doesnt help the runstang driver shoot the P-38.

Offline davidpt40

• Silver Member
« Reply #48 on: December 09, 2003, 06:55:58 PM »
Its 35mph and yes it does.

Offline thrila

• Gold Member
      • The Few Squadron
« Reply #49 on: December 09, 2003, 07:10:48 PM »
Not really, it'll help you to runaway though.  If you use the speed to disengage to return later with an adv the p38 can just climb while you extend.
"Willy's gone and made another,
Something like it's elder brother-
Wing tips rounded, spinner's bigger.
Unbraced tailplane ends it's figure.
One-O-nine F is it's name-
F is for futile, not for fame."

Offline Ecliptik

• Nickel Member
« Reply #50 on: December 09, 2003, 08:40:56 PM »