Author Topic: Rudder and trim use  (Read 1489 times)

Offline SkevJ

• Zinc Member
Rudder and trim use
« on: February 04, 2006, 12:28:50 AM »
This is where I get lost.

Whenever I'm in a training arena and people teach me manuevers I have a good time understanding what they are teaching but when it comes to the rudder and elevator trim use I get lost. So my question to experts is what is the purpose of Rudder and trim use?

Offline B@tfinkV

• Platinum Member
Rudder and trim use
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2006, 01:15:38 AM »
im not an expert, but here it is.

rudder trim is only used (by me) when the plane is badly damaged and im trying to counter the effects of missing half a wing, or losing an engine in multi-engined planes. leave this well alone, IMO.

elevator trim is very usefull. set to full deflection up it will do exactly what you expect. pull up/round faster.

the combat trim sets the trim automatically for whatever it thinks is best for you at any time.

manual trim will override this function, therefore you can keep the elevators fully trimmed up at all times.

a good time to use elevator trim is when trying to pull out of a compression dive.

another is when fighting in a turn fight with a more nimle plane.

be warned though, it can produce unstable flight if you are not used to it, and will make the nose bounce for gunnery alot more noticable.

bat
 400 yrds on my tail, right where i want you... [/size]

Offline Socks

• Zinc Member
Rudder and trim use
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2006, 01:30:43 AM »