Author Topic: Stick a Fork in Me!  (Read 5567 times)

Offline Maverick

• Plutonium Member
Stick a Fork in Me!
« Reply #75 on: May 15, 2000, 12:44:00 AM »
My $.04 in this discusion.

First off I am a TOTAL dweeb here. Still just learning the game. I do have some qualifications in other areas however. I do know tanks. I am a just retired Armor Officer in the Army. I studied and trained in tanks. I also trained other tankers. I want to say a couple of things about the 20mm vs tanks debate.

1. Armor is strongest on the front slope. Due to weight considerations it is weaker elsewhere, PARTICULARLY on the top. WW2 armor isn't what we have now on current battle tanks. It was often welded hardened plate and occasionally homogenous armor. The track and support wheels are much easier to take out.

2. Ammo loads in aircraft were not a single type of ammo unless ammo restrictions (like lack of) were in place. The most common American mix was ball, AP (armor piercing), incendiery and incendiery AP. This type of mix can now cause considerable damage to modern tanks even from a .50 cal. machine gun. Should you expect penetration from the front? Nope, but you can bet you can expect damage from all systems not behind the frontal armor with multiple hits from above.
Remember seeing those neat gun films of a plane straffing a destroyer and the destroyer blew up??? The destroyer had thicker armor than most tanks of the time.