Author Topic: Flaps?  (Read 1234 times)

Offline BaldEagl

• Plutonium Member
Flaps?
« Reply #30 on: January 14, 2008, 05:55:02 PM »
Originally posted by SkyRock
Where do these fellas come up with this nonsense?  Why give advice when you do not have a clue?:rolleyes:

I've been flying Spits for almost 11 years from AW to AHII.  I almost never have to use flaps (1-2% of the time), even at flap speeds (~160 mph or lower).  The drag ceated by the single stage flaps just isn't worth it most of the time.

I can out-turn most planes without them and for those I can't I can use the climbing ability, acceleration or another of the Spits qualities to beat them.

Throttle management is much more useful in a Spit than flaps IMO.

There are rare occasions where you need them but if you know how to push deep into the stall horn in a Spit it's not very often.
I edit a lot of my posts.  Get used to it.

Offline Morpheus

• Plutonium Member
Flaps?
« Reply #31 on: January 14, 2008, 06:10:57 PM »
if its got flaps use em. being a noob you will learn when and when not to use them. its one of those things that cant be taught or told how. Learn by doing.
If you don't receive Jesus Christ, you don't receive the gift of righteousness.

Offline SkyRock

• Platinum Member
Flaps?
« Reply #32 on: January 14, 2008, 06:24:40 PM »
Originally posted by SgtPappy

Skyrock,
And the P-51 is great at turning, yes at high sped. Arguably, nothing turns better above 300 mph.  

The hog out turns it at 300mph+, no arguments about it!

Originally posted by SgtPappy
the P-51's not going to do much at all in the turn fight.
Wrong!:aok

Triton28 - "...his stats suggest he has a healthy combination of suck and sissy!"

Offline SkyRock

• Platinum Member
Flaps?
« Reply #33 on: January 14, 2008, 06:26:53 PM »
Originally posted by BaldEagl
I've been flying Spits for almost 11 years from AW to AHII.  I almost never have to use flaps (1-2% of the time), even at flap speeds (~160 mph or lower).