Author Topic: Flaps?  (Read 1231 times)

Offline stifor187

• Zinc Member
Flaps?
« on: January 13, 2008, 04:32:27 PM »
First im a major noob so far and am only in my first week.Is flap use really important in a dog fight?

Mainly asking bout the 2 planes i fly most the spit16 and pony.

any advice welcome:aok

Offline VansCrew1

• Gold Member
Flaps?
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2008, 04:34:48 PM »
yes.
Tour 79
Callsign: VansCrew

"The Ringer"

Offline Motherland

• Plutonium Member
Flaps?
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2008, 04:37:05 PM »
Spit 16... not really.
P51... vital.

Banshee7

Flaps?
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2008, 04:46:57 PM »
Flaps are very important when turn fighting.  The Spit you really don't need them unless you are up against another spit.  The pony in the other hand needs flaps for good turning.  The Pony's flaps are outstanding because you can fly with 1 notch of flaps out up to 400mph.

#S#

Banshee7

Offline Connery

• Nickel Member
Flaps?
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2008, 05:09:15 PM »
Once you've got the basics of flight down, I would strongly recommend flying a bird which relies on flaps more heavily... for example the F4U or p-38 but be prepared to die... A LOT.

**Edit** Perhaps relies heavily is the wrong phrase to use but you know what I mean.

I been playing this game over 18 months now (I think) and I still don't totally "get" flaps. It will take some time :)

Good Luck with it

Offline DoNKeY

• Silver Member
Flaps?
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2008, 05:14:28 PM »
Equally important, though in some planes more than others, is throttle management and rudder usage.  Don't forget about those.:aok

Perhaps try the F6F.  Really taught me a lot about flaps, throttle, and rudder (not saying I'm an expert by any means though).  That plane will surprise you.

donkey