Author Topic: How Big a Screen Do You Use for Aces High?  (Read 4012 times)

Offline MrRiplEy[H]

• Persona Non Grata
  • Plutonium Member
Re: How Big a Screen Do You Use for Aces High?
« Reply #75 on: February 27, 2010, 12:25:41 PM »
Well, I'm only a professional hardware and software reviewer for several computer magazines for 16 years, creator the software CDs that have shipped with every Epson projector since 1999, the writer of 3 Epson projector user guides and service manuals in 2009 alone, and I've been playing video games with projectors since the Warbirds convention in 1997.

So perhaps you might accept me as an authority on the subject when I say that, at least where it comes to projectors intended primarily to be hooked up to computers (and therefore have either a VGA or even a DVI port), THERE IS NO APPRECIABLE LAG WHEN PLAYING GAMES. It's just like using an LCD computer monitor.

But you do recognize that input lag is a big problem also in many LCD monitors?

"Input lag is a phenomenon associated with some types of LCD  displays, and nearly all types of HDTVs, that refers to latency, or lag measured by the difference between the time a signal is input into a display and the time it is shown by the display. This lag time has been measured as high as 68ms[1], or the equivalent of 3-4 frames on a 60 Hz display."

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Input_lag
Definiteness of purpose is the starting point of all achievement. –W. Clement Stone

Offline Vulcan

• Plutonium Member
« Reply #76 on: February 27, 2010, 02:50:27 PM »
In any case, I checked the back of my computer and there is No VGA connector on my video card just a pair of DVI connectors (XFX GTX 275 from NVIDIA). Maybe I bought the wrong card? Going to Newegg I did find a few (not a lot) cards that still offer a VGA connector on the high-end cards.

So the fact is that now a days (that is a funny term eh?) video cards are mostly being offered with DVI and the newer HDMI connectors.