Author Topic: Get rid of Killshooter!!! It doesn't make sense.  (Read 632 times)

Offline CyranoAH

• Gold Member
Get rid of Killshooter!!! It doesn't make sense.
« Reply #45 on: April 19, 2002, 06:20:29 PM »
Originally posted by Yeager
Ok...ok  hehe

RELAX........its just a game.

I was beginning to worry! :eek: :D

Now everything's back to normal.

Daniel

Offline pbirmingham

• Copper Member
      • http://bigscary.com
« Reply #46 on: April 20, 2002, 07:24:55 PM »
Originally posted by beet1e
Midnight - au contraire, mon ami.

And this is where WB and IL2 guys will agree with me. Many in WB refer to AH projectile trajectories as "laser gunnery", and I can see where they're coming from. In AH, I once got a kill of a 109 from my F6F at a range of 1000 yards at an upward angle of about 30°. I'm no expert myself, but I think the other guys argue that beyond about 500 yards, the projectiles' energy would be pretty much spent, just as a shotgun is lethal at 10 feet but probably harmless at 500 yards.  

The other guys are probably wrong, especially if they're applying a 500-yard limit to heavier projectiles than 7.92 mm.  In the .50 cal destroying tanks thread HT posted a chart of armor penetration versus range for the Browning M2.  As you see, the Browning M2 will penetrate around 18mm of armor plate struck perpendicular at 500 yards.  Hardly "pretty much spent."

Offline beet1e

• Persona Non Grata
  • Platinum Member
« Reply #47 on: April 20, 2002, 09:33:45 PM »