Author Topic: An alternative form of flight..  (Read 1219 times)

Online nopoop

• Gold Member
An alternative form of flight..
« on: July 30, 2003, 11:11:13 PM »
Been exploring alternative life styles and found one that might be up the old ally.

AN OLD CODGER R/C DUDE !!!

I studied up, hit the field and "absorbed".

First thing I realized is there is a particular style of dress when doin the R/C thing.

I went out and bought some kaki shorts and sandels. The most important item of apparal seemed to be those "straw" type hats that golfers wear. With the holes in them so the lack of hair shows through ?? YOUKNOWTHEKINE.

Started hangin out with the codgers and learned the lingo. Glow plugs and CG's, frequencies and fuel mixtures...

Jeez I got thousands of hours flying sims and once upon a time I was a real honest to goodness real plane renter..

Cake.

Sent away for one of those "Ready to fly" trainers with a 6 foot wing span with the engine pre-run, ready to go. Put it together. Got my "Field box" with a power panel, starter, fuel pump..

We ain't messin around here..

So the time has come, planes ready to go, field box is on the curb out front of the house..

I slip in..to THE shorts, sandels and the hat..

Properly attired I stroll out with my plane..

Brother John straddles the beast so it won't move, and using all these thingies with wires and stuff I bought..

I BROUGHT IT TO LIFE !!!!!!!

WHOOT !!

I ran it though the paces, full throttle, slam it to idle and it's purring like a kitten..

Jeez this is GREAT !!!

So feeling full of myself with MY plane purring like a kitten I says to Brother John..

"Let here go, I'll taxi her around.."

It went well for four or five seconds...but the throttle was too high and .. then I got mixed up.

There was an altercation with the neighbors car...

I'll keep you posted..
nopoop

It's ALL about the fight..

Offline Deviant

• Zinc Member
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2003, 11:56:11 PM »
Nopoop,