Author Topic: what is up with the 190a5? (caution rant)  (Read 2140 times)

Offline RAM

• Parolee
  • Zinc Member
what is up with the 190a5? (caution rant)
« Reply #45 on: August 21, 2000, 09:05:00 AM »
Funked, humm...ok on the test.G3s had outer cannons and cowl guns removed allways... Still, did that G3 had bomb racks or were not fitted?. They added drag and weighted quite a bit.

Somehow I dont believe that Pyro missed in this matter,as it is a very evident thing.But who knows. I feel it is the way it should, but I admit I am still a newbie in aircraft matters  

Anyway,I always thought that AH's charts were done wiht 50% fuel. Thanks for correcting this.

Jihad, while Fishu may sound (he DOES sound) harsh, he is bassically right. Read citabria's posts. There are a lot of allied plane nuts that simply cant stand a decent competition from a Fw190. They have anchored deep in their mind that the 190 MUST be a brick regardless of all proofs that say the inverse. You, evidently, arent one of those, but the big majory is.

[This message has been edited by RAM (edited 08-21-2000).]

funked

« Reply #46 on: August 21, 2000, 10:01:00 AM »
RAM - go to my website:  http://members.xoom.com/mikewaltz/F-TR-1102-ND.htm
I got this document from the historical office of the museum at Wright-Patterson AFB (aka Wright Field).  There are about 50 pages but I am too lazy to scan them all.

The plane had no bomb racks.  It was made to be as much like an A-5 as possible.  However the takeoff weight of 8538 pounds is 200 to 300 lbs less than I have seen for A-3 and A-4 with 6 guns and ammo.  A-5 as you know had a longer fuselage than A-3 or A-4, and should be a little heavier.

I don't know that Pyro missed.  He may have some better data than I do.  But the Wright Field speed and climb charts seem to match the HTC charts pretty well.  In any case we are not talking about a huge discrepancy here.