Author Topic: F4u-u1/1d/1c/u4  (Read 3745 times)

Offline Bingo73

• Copper Member
F4u-u1/1d/1c/u4
« Reply #75 on: May 01, 2006, 07:23:12 AM »
I guess I just don't see what all the tears are about.
You take a big plane, put in a really big engine swinging a 13' prop and some bent wings that have a pretty good shape and it's gonna go fast and be pretty dang manuverable.
Seems to me that this is becoming more and more of a "my uber spit aint so uber anymore!" thread.

Course I'm just a noob in a 38. I get killed by spits all the time. What do I know?

Bingo73
475th FG
"Satan's Angels"

Offline SkyRock

• Platinum Member
F4u-u1/1d/1c/u4
« Reply #76 on: May 01, 2006, 09:08:23 AM »
I had a good laugh out of this thread because I can't tell a difference in the performance at all.  The hog has and will always be great plane for certain situations.  I have flown the hog quite a bit and once a person learns the stall characteristics, and masters some of the advantages the hog has, the rest is just manipulation of the angles and speeds.  I do like that because of this thread I am seeing quite a bit more hogs in the air,  which usually mean easy kills for me.  Wetrat is a great stick in the 4-hog btw creton left him out.  And one more thing I would like to chime in on, the dropping of the gear is very overrated.  One will get more performance from knowing the amount of flaps to deploy at the right time rather than dropping gear every engagement.  I kill many hogs with their gear deployed trying to outturn when its really all about the angles.:aok

Triton28 - "...his stats suggest he has a healthy combination of suck and sissy!"

Offline AKDogg

• Gold Member
      • http://aksquad.net/
F4u-u1/1d/1c/u4
« Reply #77 on: May 01, 2006, 10:46:12 AM »