Author Topic: 109k or P38L  (Read 3313 times)

Offline Chubbie

• Zinc Member
109k or P38L
« on: January 01, 2008, 04:54:21 AM »
I cant decide what to fly. I'm a decent pilot in IL2 and WWIIOL but this game is completely different. I can't seem to do anything right. I can get 4 kill missions but half the time people just HO you all day long. I've tried avoiding the HO but that just to them getting a deflection shot on me and ripping my tail off. I love the handling on the 109k but hate the torque and I don't like the low ammo loadout on the 30mm. I love the guns on the p38 and the vertical capability, but it seems like the 109k outclasses it in every way that matters.

Basically, what should I fly and why?

Offline bozon

• Platinum Member
109k or P38L
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2008, 05:39:04 AM »
Fly what ever plane you like, regardless of its ranking as "best".

Why?
Why not?
Mosquito VI - twice the spitfire, four times the ENY.

Click!>> "So, you want to fly the wooden wonder" - <<click!
the almost incomplete and not entirely inaccurate guide to the AH Mosquito.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RGOWswdzGQs

Offline WMLute

• Platinum Member
109k or P38L
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2008, 06:01:37 AM »
Just hook up with one of our wonderful trainers in the Training Arena and they will have ya' dodging the head on in no time.

Out of the (litterallly) thousands of ho attempts made on me a month, only a handfull ever get me, and there is a reason for this.

109 or 38 eh?

Both excellent picks, and both have their strengths.

My 1st question would be, do you like to bomb things?  If so, then the p38 is the logical choice.  It is btw one of the best and most stable bombing platforms.

If you are talking pure air to air dogfighting, I would give the knod to the 109.  Once you figure out what all it can do, and get y'er aim down, you will find there is not much you can't kill when flying a 109.