Author Topic: I hate The Beatles  (Read 2593 times)

Offline Hannibal

• Zinc Member
Re: I hate The Beatles
« Reply #60 on: April 20, 2011, 08:56:22 PM »
saying black dog was ripped off from "Oh well"..which I just listened to....is quit a stretch :headscratch:

I am not a musician in any way shape or form but I love music, how is it ripped off explain it to me because I don't hear it.

"Ripped off" was a bit of a stretch. I should have said "inspired" like Page supposedly said he was by the song. Though I can hear a slight similarity in the riff, it was mainly the start/stop of the song. If you want to hear a great example of a zep rip off, listen to this song that cattb just reminded me of. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pM8_HuQ0b34

BTW I'm not saying these guys are wrong for stealing ideas from other people. Everyone does it. All I am saying is give credit where credit is due. And that credit can work both ways. For example, Dylan and Hendrix with All Along the Watchtower: (Dylan has described his reaction to hearing Hendrix's version: "It overwhelmed me, really. He had such talent, he could find things inside a song and vigorously develop them. He found things that other people wouldn't think of finding in there. He probably improved upon it by the spaces he was using. I took license with the song from his version, actually, and continue to do it to this day."[25] In the booklet accompanying his Biograph album, Dylan said: "I liked Jimi Hendrix's record of this and ever since he died I've been doing it that way... Strange how when I sing it, I always feel it's a tribute to him in some kind of way.")

Offline Rash

• Silver Member
« Reply #61 on: April 20, 2011, 09:04:46 PM »
kind of amazing when ever anyone gets inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of fame they thank

Chuck Berry
Elvis Presley
The Beatles
The Kinks